Anonymous

New owner (TR7 V8 FHC URW450X)

The all purpose forum for any TR7/8 related topics.
Paule
Wedgling

New owner (TR7 V8 FHC URW450X)

Postby Paule » 09 Oct 2018 10:16

Hello to all.
Many thanks for the acceptance, a bit about how I got here.
I am very new to the Triumph TR7-TR8 scene having just recently acquired this 1981 TR7 V8 conversion.
URW 450X.
This car has previously been listed on here
Rico’s TR7 V8 FHC Project URW 450X.
Below are his posts which gives the history of the car save me repeating it.
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=21580
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=22967
I’ve also taken a leap of faith in this car, it has done 16 miles in 13 years (all of this was done by Rico getting the car MOT for selling) I bought the car knowing it needs more work.
Had the car transported to me as I wasn’t prepared to drive it 121 miles untested even with MOT!
I’ve now had the car up on a ramp and the underside doesn’t reflect the top shiny side! It’s not that bad just lots of rusty components, few small patches required, bushes, ball joints etc. Bad oil leaks from engine/box suspect crankshaft seal.
All in all, a happy chap, in love with the V8 noise :D. I was lucky enough to be in my early 20’s when I watched them being raced and rallied.
So got me a 37year old classic project, can get spares easily, it’s a V8 with torque and noise, AP 4 pot brakes, Koni suspension and springs, big radiator, proper conversion.
In anticipation of the help and knowledge I will no doubt be asking for.
I'm in Carnoustie, Angus, Scotland - Any fellow enthusiast near me?

rugbyref1
Site Admin

Re: New owner (TR7 V8 FHC URW450X)

Postby rugbyref1 » 09 Oct 2018 11:26

Hi Paul (& welcome),

There are a lot of members on here who are always happy to help with advice.

I know Stevie is up you way, i'm sure a few others will make themselves known :)

Best of luck with it.
Christopher

A respectable collection.

Beans
TRemendous

Postby Beans » 10 Oct 2018 20:32